Charleston Uninsured Motorist Lawyers
Dedicated to Getting the Results You Need
Like most other states in our country, South Carolina requires all motorists to have auto insurance, and the law necessitates that drivers must carry this with them any time they are on the road. Moreover, every motorist is required to have coverage for uninsured drivers. This law was created to protect those who might be hit by uninsured motorists to cover major physical injury and damage to the victims’ property. Unfortunately, the problem is that many motorists are simply underinsured to pay back the full compensation. Even worse, there are many other cases of hit-and-run, where the victim is left to pay the brunt of damages out of their own pocket.
If you have recently had the terrible misfortune of being involved in an accident where the other driver was uninsured or underinsured, it is crucial to immediately get in touch with our uninsured motorist attorneys in Charleston. At Kahn Law Firm, LLP, we strive to get you the justice you deserve.
Contact us now at (845) 203-9990 if you are in need of a free personal injury consultation.
How Uninsured Motorist Claims Work in South Carolina
If you have been involved in a serious car crash in South Carolina, you will quickly find that the injuries and property damage that result from this devastating incident can lead to bills ranging in thousands of dollars, and even debts that last over several decades. If the other driver is the primary cause of the crash, you can file for compensation for that motorist’s negligence – so long as they are insured.
However, if you have been injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver or a malicious hit-and-run perpetrator, you will have to make a claim for recompense with your own insurance policy, which means that you will not get much compensation for your loss.
The minimums for liability coverage include:
- $25,000 for physical injury or fatality for each person
- $50,000 for physical injury or fatality for a single accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Even though these minimums may seem like a lot at first, the surmounting bills will soon overwhelm you and your family. Usually, the cost of fixing one broken leg alone is about $7,500. Just staying in the hospital for three days can result in the expense of over $35,000. Without a knowledgeable attorney at your side, you could soon be paying these extortionate debts all on your own.
Working with a Qualified Attorney
Although all insurance claims are scrutinized by your insurance company, uninsured or underinsured motorist claims are evaluated especially cautiously. Insurance companies want to give the least amount of compensation possible. You will need to demonstrate that the other motorist was the one at fault, and it was their utter negligence and recklessness that resulted in the accident. Otherwise, adjusters may claim it was your fault and that the insurance company is absolved from offering any support.
This is why it is absolutely essential to have our powerful uninsured motorist lawyers in Charleston by your side to help you obtain and display the evidence that proves your case.
Call us today at (845) 203-9990 or contact us online to get aggressive support from our team at Kahn Law Firm, LLP.