If you have been in an
accident in South Carolina, your need to know what to do and that the law requires
drivers to take certain steps if the collision results in
Check for Injuries - Render Aid -
First things first. Take care of yourself and others who may be injured.
Check yourself for injuries. If you or others are injured, call 911 or
ask someone to do it for you. If you are not to seriously hurt, check
Call For Medical Help
If medical assistance is needed, call 911. Give them the information they
ask for so they can do their job of getting help to where it is needed.
Prompt medical treatment is more important than other concerns like property damage.
In South Carolina, the driver involved in an accident resulting in injury
or death must immediately notify the local police department or the office
of the county sheriff or the nearest office of the South Carolina Highway Patrol. (S.C. Code Ann. §56-5-1260.) If the accident is not investigated by the police and a person is injured,
dies or there is property damage of $1,000 or more, then within 15 days
of the accident, the information about the accident and proof of insurance
must be sent to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. (S.C. Code Ann. §56-5-1270).
Get to Safety
If you are able to and it is safe to do so, pull your car to the side of
the road so it will not be a hazard. Otherwise, leave the car and get
yourself to a safe place.
Warn others and Wait for Help
Turn off your engine, turn on your hazard lights and use road flares to
warn others to slow down. Wait for help to arrive.
If you have a camera or camera on your phone, its a good idea to take pictures
at the scene. Consider getting pictures of the following:
- The vehicles involved, including license plates
- Damage to the vehicles
- Markings on the road
- Any other evidence of how the collision happened
Document the Accident
Speak with your lawyer and the police about the details of the accident.
Consider taking the following steps to document the accident:
Identify the officers - Once the police arrive, get the name and badge number of all responding officers.
Get a copy- Ask the police where you can get a copy of the accident report.
Take pictures - Document the accident thoroughly by taking snapshots from different angles,
showing the damage done.
Take names - Write down the names, addresses and phone numbers of all parties involved,
including any passengers in the other vehicle.
Talk to witnesses - If there were any witnesses to the accident, take down their names and
their contact information too.
Contact the Kahn Law Firm
Our attorneys are available to hear about your case and offer a free case
evaluation. Our attorneys are here around the clock to support victims
Call us at (843) 547-0240
any time or